A hit and run accident happens when a driver hits another motorist, bicyclist, motorcyclist, or pedestrian and flees the scene without stopping to give first aid or insurance information.
If you or a loved one was injured in this type of accident, a Tallahassee hit and run accident lawyer might be able to help you recover compensation, whether the driver is apprehended or not.
Please call Ben Crump Law, PLLC, for a free consultation with a member of our firm. Call (800) 959-1444 today.
You May Still Recover Damages After a Hit and Run Accident
Although it is a criminal offense to leave the scene of an accident without giving first aid or insurance information, about 25 percent of Florida’s motor vehicle accidents are hit and run accidents, according to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
You might be surprised to learn that even if the driver is not apprehended, you may still recover damages under Florida Statutes § 627.7407. Florida is a “no-fault” state when it comes to auto accidents, including hit and run accidents. All licensed Florida drivers with a registered vehicle with at least four wheels must carry insurance, including personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, per Florida Statutes § 627.736.
Understanding “No-Fault” in Florida
The term “no-fault” does not mean the other driver is absolved of all responsibility. Instead, the first $10,000 in medical bills are paid from your own PIP insurance for injuries suffered after any kind of motor vehicle accident in Florida, including a hit and run.
The auto insurance requirements for Florida drivers are:
- At least $10,000 in PIP and a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL).
- The policy must remain in force and continue for as long as the car is legally registered.
- The policy must be sold by an insurance carrier licensed to do business in Florida.
An attorney with Ben Crump Law, PLLC, can help you understand what benefits may be available to you for your injuries and losses.
For a free legal consultation with a hit and run accidens lawyer serving Tallahassee, call (844) 638-1822
We Help File and Manage Your Claim
In our experience as Tallahassee hit and run lawyers, most people are not familiar with everything their auto insurance policy covers. That is understandable since there is a lot of fine print and confusing legal language.
We help you understand your coverage and your legal rights, both as a policyholder and as a hit and run accident victim. Although we cannot predict the outcome of your case, our firm has successfully recovered damages for other clients in situations similar to your own.
We Pride Ourselves on Client-Focused Services
Our services include:
- A free case review with a member of our team.
- A thorough review of your injuries and damages.
- Securing evidence such as police reports, photos of your damaged car and your injuries, medical reports, witness statements, and any other relevant documentation about your accident.
- Compiling all expenses and bills.
- Submitting a detailed claim to your insurance company.
We manage your claim and take care of all communications and negotiations with the insurance company. This allows you to take care of yourself with the peace of mind that you have a strong legal representative working on your behalf.
Tallahassee Hit and Run Accidens Lawyer Near Me (844) 638-1822
We Can Help if Your PIP Is Insufficient for Your Injuries
Your PIP insurance is set aside for the first $10,000 in medical expenses. When you consider the cost of emergency room visits, surgery, and hospitalization, $10,000 is hardly adequate to cover your medical bills and other expenses.
According to the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid, the average cost for a three-day stay in a hospital comes out to $30,000. This means that your PIP insurance would only cover one day in the hospital, and there are usually many other related expenses, such as doctor’s visits and prescriptions.
We Can Pursue Additional Damages from Your Insurance Company
You cannot depend on the hit and run driver being apprehended. Even if this person is caught, he or she may not even have insurance.
A Tallahassee hit and run accident lawyer can help you pursue additional compensation from your insurance company. This is often the case when you suffer significant or permanent injury, which may include:
- Neck and/or spinal cord injuries
- Loss of an organ or bodily system (such as your sight)
- Second and/or third-degree burns
- Traumatic brain injuries (TBIs)
- Amputations or dismemberment
- Broken or crushed bones
Our attorneys at Ben Crump Law, PLLC, will do all we can to negotiate an acceptable settlement for you. If the insurance company denies your claim or makes it difficult to negotiate in good faith, we can take your case to court.
Florida Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Lawsuit
Under Florida Statutes § 95.41, you have four years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit. This sounds like plenty of time to explore your legal options, but you should know that many personal injury lawsuits begin as an insurance claim. The clock starts ticking the time you are injured.
It might be in the best interest of you and your loved ones to contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC, today, and learn more about potential compensation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
What You Might Recover
Each case is different because so much depends on the extent and severity of your injuries, as well as your expected prognosis.
You might be awarded damages for:
- Medical care and treatment
- Lost pay
- Diminished earning ability
- Pain and suffering
A lawyer with our firm will carefully valuate your damages for maximum possible compensation.
Please Call Today
A Tallahassee hit and run accident lawyer will work to protect your rights and help you recover damages. Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC, today at (800) 959-1444 for a free consultation with a member of our team.