The legal aftermath of a rideshare accident can be just as frustrating as the financial loss and pain and suffering involved as well. There are typically multiple parties involved, which can cause a lot of legal confusion. For these reasons, it is a good idea to get the help of a Santa Ana ridesharing accident lawyer as soon as possible.
There are time limits on filing and talking with these other parties without knowing the law may not work to your benefit of getting the compensation you deserve. Contact Ben Crump, PLLC, today at (800) 598-7557 for a free consultation. We are here when you are ready to file, and you will not pay any fees until we win your case.
Filing a Lawsuit Against a Rideshare
Rideshare lawsuits are typically more complex and challenging to manage than just filing against another person’s insurance company. There are more parties involved, and with the driver being on contract status, you may need to figure out at what point the accident occurred as it correlates to the company application login times.
If the driver has not yet logged into the application, it may only be them against you. Furthermore, because rideshares such as Uber and Lyft are technology companies, they do not fall under the same guidelines as taxis.
Santa Ana has also implemented specific rideshare loading zones to reduce these types of accidents per the California Code of Ordinances §36-605(a)(4). This is something to look at when filing. Our ridesharing personal injury attorneys can help you sort everything out, including the specific laws that apply to your case.
Rideshare Insurance Standards
The law mandates that rideshares have a three-step insurance policy, with each section based on how it affects what the injured parties can access compensation.
According to California Public Utilities Code (PUC) §5433, rideshare companies must have:
- $1 million for injury, death, and property damage for a passenger
- $1 million of uninsured/underinsured coverage, which covers the passenger while they are in the vehicle
- $50,000 for injury or death
- $100,000 injury or death per incident
- $30,000 for property damage
- $200,000 per occurrence to cover any liability that exceeds the amount of liability afforded
If the driver has not logged into the application and is only using the car for personal use, they are responsible for any injury, death, or property damage in an accident their negligence may cause.
According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), all drivers must have a minimum liability insurance coverage of:
- $15,000 for death or injury per person
- $30,000 for death or injury to more than one person
- $5,000 for property damage
For a free legal consultation with a ridesharing accidents lawyer serving Santa Ana, call 800-959-1444
Our Rideshare Accident Lawyers Are Ready to Assist You
Getting the help of our Santa Ana rideshare lawyers can help you understand your rights, figure out who to file against, and keep you from having to relive the moment over and over again. When you deal with large corporations’ legal teams, you may face an initial settlement offer that does not fairly compensate you for your losses. Additionally, an insurer may deny your claim entirely.
At Ben Crump, PLLC, we are compassionate about your losses and understand that there is no value one can place on losing life or losing the ability to do the things you love.
Enlisting Ben Crump, PLLC allows you to make space to heal and grieve if necessary. Our Santa Ana personal injury attorneys can face the challenges with the knowledge of the law and build your case. We can keep you updated and negotiate while gathering evidence and interviewing witnesses.
Santa Ana Ridesharing Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-959-1444
Time Limits on Filing
The statute of limitations, per California Code of Civil Procedure (CCP) §335.1, for filing a personal injury claim for wrongful death is two years from the accident or one year from the discovery of the injury. Some other statutes and exemptions may change this, depending on your case. You can discuss these options with an attorney who can help you understand them better.
Even though you are not responsible for the accident, make sure that you follow the law and file a collision report. You must file this within ten days of the accident, per the DMV, if there is death, injury, or over $1000 of apparent damage. Depending on your situation, if you do not file the report, you may lose your license and even face jail time. Talk to a rideshare lawyer who can help you.
Click to contact our Sarasota Car Accident Lawyers today
Compensation You May Receive
Damages you may be able to get compensation for include:
- Medical expenses
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of wages
- Funeral costs
- Attorney fees
- Loss of consortium
This is not an exhaustive list. We can help you go over what you may be eligible for and guide you on how you should file to help you seek the compensation you deserve.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Contact Ben Crump, PLLC, Today for a Free Consultation
According to a Becker Friedman Institute for Economics at the University of Chicago (BFI) report, the introduction of ridesharing has increased accident fatalities by 3% or almost 1000 more per year. These statistics shine a light on the hazards that come with the use of digital apps while driving. It helps if you are vigilant with what is going on around you, especially in urban areas where traffic is denser.
Contact your Ben Crump, PLLC at (800) 598-7557. We offer free consultations.
Call or text 800-959-1444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form