Ridesharing services, such as Uber and Lyft, offer an affordable and convenient way to travel around Aurora, Colorado. However, they are still susceptible to road accidents caused by negligent drivers.
If you get into a rideshare accident in Aurora, call Ben Crump, PLLC at (800) 598-7557. We can arrange for our Aurora ridesharing accident lawyer to provide the support needed to get you compensated.
Liability Insurance in Rideshare Accidents
Ridesharing drivers are required under Colorado’s laws to possess liability insurance while on duty, according to the Colorado General Assembly. If the driver causes an accident, liability coverage helps pay for injury and property damage expenses incurred by their victims. You can file your third-party claim with the rideshare company they work for or the driver’s individual insurer.
The amount of coverage depends on the rideshare driver’s status at the time. If they were logged in but did not have a passenger, the minimum would be $25,000 for injuries to one person, $50,000 for all persons, and $15,000 for property damage. But if the driver had a passenger, the liability coverage would go up to $1 million per incident.
Keep in mind that the rideshare liability coverage will not apply to drivers while off-duty. Instead, the standard mandatory insurance will come into play. You will have to bring your insurance claim to their personal auto insurer.
For a free legal consultation with a ridesharing accidents lawyer serving Aurora, call 800-959-1444
Another option you might consider is filing a rideshare accident lawsuit against the driver. Instead of negotiating with insurance companies, you will have the Aurora civil court review your case and decide how much the liable party owes you. Civil cases can be more time-consuming and expensive than an insurance claim. However, it could help you recover more compensation if the liability coverage is insufficient.
Aurora Ridesharing Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-959-1444
The driver or the rideshare company could also propose meeting in a private settlement to avoid dealing with all the legalities involved in a claim or lawsuit. While this may seem appealing to you, it would be better not to accept any offers for now, especially if the accident is recent. Your expenses may still accumulate, and the money you receive from an initial settlement may not be enough to pay for everything.
You might consider consulting first with an Aurora ridesharing accident lawyer before filing any action against the driver or company. The attorney can assess your situation to guide you to the best choice possible. They can also assist with the tasks involved in forming your claim or case. For instance, they can help with processing legal documents or check for more evidence, such as eyewitness reports and dashcam videos. The lawyer can also serve as your legal representative and negotiate for you with the insurance provider, driver, or rideshare service. If the case goes to trial, they can speak on your behalf in court.
The rideshare accident attorney is also familiar with Colorado’s transport network company (TNC) and auto accident-related statutes since it is their practice area. They can check for requirements that you need to comply with and laws that could help bring the outcome in your favor. For example, they could investigate if the ridesharing driver violated the state’s consecutive driving time limit of 12 hours. They can use such a violation as proof that the driver acted negligently.
Click to contact our Aurora Car Accident Lawyers today
Your Potential Compensation
The damages you can recover in your rideshare accident case have two categories: economic and non-economic. Economic damages cover financial losses such as hospital expenses, medications, vehicle repairs, and lost income. If a loved one died in the crash, you could receive payment for funeral and burial costs.
Meanwhile, non-economic damages aim to compensate for the accident’s more abstract costs. These can be your psychological trauma, disabilities, and disfigurements. In the event of wrongful death, you may also get damages for losing the loved one’s support and companionship.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Laws Affecting Your Damages
Colorado has a few laws that could affect how much you can recover in your Aurora rideshare accident case. One of these is the comparative fault rule, which reduces your receivable amount if you share liability in the accident. For instance, if the insurance provider or court finds you 20 percent at fault, you may only get 80 percent of the total compensatory amount.
The state also has a cap for non-economic damages. You typically cannot recover more than $250,000 unless the court finds you eligible for additional compensation. But it cannot exceed $500,000 at all.
Statute of Limitations for Aurora Ridesharing Accidents
Like all other collision cases, your Aurora rideshare accident case has a statute of limitations. Under Colorado Revised Statute § 13-80-101, you generally have three years to bring the suit to court if the crash caused injuries or property damage. But if it resulted in wrongful death, you have to file it within two years.
An Aurora ridesharing accident lawyer can help you file your case within the deadline. They can monitor your progress to see if you are on schedule and assist with the steps involved to finish faster.
You Can Start Seeking Justice Now
Filing a claim or suit against a rideshare driver or their company can be more complicated than a regular Aurora car accident. Ben Crump, PLLC understands the struggles you face and stands ready to assist you. Our Aurora ridesharing accident lawyers will take all the steps necessary to seek justice. As a contingency-based law firm, we will not charge you a fee unless you get compensated.
Besides auto accident cases, the team also handles other civil cases, including wrongful incarceration, fire injuries, and security litigation. We work with clients in Colorado and throughout the United States. For more details on our services, you may contact us anytime at (800) 598-7557.
Call or text 800-959-1444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form