Car accidents can frighten and traumatize their victims. You may have difficulty knowing what to do after an accident or where to turn for help, especially if you suffered injuries or your car was destroyed. You might seek answers if your loved one died in a crash. If another driver’s failure to yield caused the accident, a Sacramento failure to yield accident lawyer may be able to help.
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), there were 3,563 motor vehicle traffic fatalities in California in 2018. Nationwide, a driver’s failure to yield led to 3,579 fatalities in car crashes.
If another driver’s reckless or negligent driving resulted in a crash, that driver should shoulder their share of the costs for your injuries or damaged property. You may be entitled to seek compensation for medical bills, property damage, or even your loved one’s wrongful death. To learn more, contact the team at Ben Crump Law, PLLC at 800-598-7557 to discuss your case.
California Yield Laws
Laws governing which driver has the right-of-way can be found in California Vehicle Code §§ 21800-21809. In summary:
- Drivers entering an intersection must yield to drivers already in the intersection.
- When two vehicles enter an intersection at the same time, the driver on the left must yield to the driver on the right.
- When there is a stop sign at each entrance to a four-way intersection, the driver on the left shall yield to the driver on the right.
- All drivers must stop if they approach an intersection where traffic signals are not working.
- Drivers making a left turn or U-turn must yield to drivers approaching in the opposite lane.
- Drivers must obey all stop signs, traffic signals, and yield signs.
- Drivers entering a highway must yield to oncoming traffic.
- All drivers must yield to emergency vehicles that are sounding their sirens.
California Accident Reporting and Insurance Laws
Drivers should report any accident involving an injury or death to the California State Highway Patrol or the local police department within 24 hours of when the accident occurred. If you have not already done so, you should submit this report immediately.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) also requires drivers to report any accident involving injury, death, or more than $1,000 in property damage within 10 days of the accident.
California requires all drivers to carry an auto liability insurance policy. At a minimum, drivers must be insured for:
- $15,000 for the death or injury of another person.
- $30,000 for the death or injury of more than one person.
- $5,000 for property damage.
A Sacramento failure to yield accident lawyer may be able to help you achieve a settlement in excess of these amounts. A lawyer can assist in negotiations with your insurance company, as well as the other driver’s auto insurance provider. Additionally, if the other driver was uninsured, or you cannot reach an agreement with the insurance company, an attorney can help you seek damages in a civil lawsuit.
For a free legal consultation with a failure to yield accidents lawyer serving Sacramento, call (844) 638-1822
Damages You Can Recover
A Sacramento failure to yield accident lawyer can help you seek awards for:
- Medical costs: This category includes emergency room visits, doctor visits, hospital stays, ongoing physical therapy, surgeries, medications, and any other expenses caused by your injury.
- Property damage: If the accident damaged or destroyed your vehicle or other property, a lawyer could help you pursue awards to cover repairs or replacement.
- Lost wages: You may receive compensation for time lost at work. If your injuries have left you unable to return to your job or to perform the same job as before your accident, you may be entitled to future lost wages or permanent disability payments.
- Pain and suffering: You may be awarded damages for stress, anxiety, trauma, and mental anguish.
- Wrongful death: If your loved one died in a traffic accident, you may be able to seek awards on their behalf. You may also seek compensation for your pain and suffering.
California operates on a pure comparative negligence model, meaning that even if the accident was partly your fault, you might still seek compensation from the other driver. For example, if you receive a $10,000 settlement, and a court finds you are 30% responsible for the crash, you will receive $7,000.
There is a two-year statute of limitations on cases of personal injury and wrongful death, according to CCP § 335.1. California allows three years for personal property damage claims.
Sacramento Failure to Yield Accident Lawyer Near Me (844) 638-1822
Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC Today
At Ben Crump Law, PLLC, we believe that after an accident, your focus should be on healing. If your injuries are someone else’s fault, they should be responsible for their share of your recovery. If someone else was reckless or negligent while behind the wheel, they should be held accountable for their actions.
Our team can help shoulder the legal burden and attempt to negotiate the best possible settlement for you. We stand ready to take your case all the way to court, if necessary, and we never shy away from tough cases.
A Sacramento failure to yield accident lawyer can help you obtain medical records, official reports from law enforcement, eyewitness testimony, and expert testimony to support your case. A lawyer can help identify all the awards you may be owed and determine all parties responsible for your accident.
Ben Crump Law, PLLC, has helped thousands of clients nationwide win millions of dollars in successful personal injury and wrongful death cases. Our team works on a contingency fee basis, meaning you pay nothing upfront or out of pocket. We only take a fee from any settlement or judgment we may win for you. Call us today risk-free at 800-598-7557 to learn more from a team member about how we may be able to help.