Failure to yield accidents happen when motorists neglect to slow their vehicle and give the right-of-way to another driver. Failure to yield accidents happen most often at intersections and when vehicles are merging.
There are rules of the road that govern which driver should yield at an intersection. According to Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 75 § 3323:
- Drivers must obey all stop signs and yield signs.
- Drivers must yield to pedestrians in a crosswalk.
- Drivers must yield to vehicles already in the intersection or approaching the intersection.
- If a driver fails to slow at a yield sign and causes an accident, the collision itself is evidence of that driver’s failure to yield.
- When two vehicles enter an intersection at the same time, the driver on the left must yield to the driver on the right.
- When turning left or making a U-turn, drivers must yield to vehicles in the approaching lane.
- Drivers entering a highway must yield to oncoming traffic.
- Drivers must yield to emergency vehicles that are sounding their sirens.
When drivers fail to yield, the results can be deadly. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), in 2018, failure to yield was the cause of 3,579 fatal accidents. Failure to yield was the fourth leading cause of fatal crashes, behind speeding, driving under the influence (DUI), and failure to stay in the correct lane.
If your vehicle was damaged, you were hurt, or your loved one was killed because another driver failed to yield, you may be entitled to compensation. A Philadelphia failure to yield accident lawyer may be able to help you seek awards in court. For more information, contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC at 800-959-1444.
What You May Recover
If your accident was not your fault, you should not have to pay. An attorney may be able to help you seek compensation for:
- Medical bills. You may seek awards for emergency room visits, hospital stays, surgeries, physical therapy, medications, and any other medical expenses caused by your accident.
- Property damage. You may be able to seek compensation for the costs of repairing or replacing your vehicle or other personal property damaged during your accident.
- Lost wages. You may be compensated for time lost at work, as well as for future lost wages. If your injuries have left you unable to work in the same capacity as before your accident, you may be entitled to permanent disability payments.
- Pain and suffering. You may be awarded damages for stress, anxiety, trauma, loss of enjoyment of life, and mental anguish, as well as scarring and disfigurement caused by your accident.
- Wrongful death. If your loved one was killed because of a failure to yield accident, you may be able to seek awards on their behalf. You may also seek compensation for your loss of companionship and financial support.
Even if you are partly responsible for your accident, you may still seek awards. Pennsylvania’s comparative negligence statute, Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 42 § 7102, allows plaintiffs to sue if they are 51 percent or less at fault. Any awards you receive will be reduced by your amount of fault, meaning if you are awarded $10,000 but are 30 percent at fault, you would receive $7,000.
A Philadelphia failure to yield accident lawyer may be able to help you prove liability, gather evidence to support your case, and ensure you are seeking all available damages. Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC to discuss the details of your case with a member of our team today.
For a free legal consultation with a failure to yield accidents lawyer serving Philadelphia, call 800-598-7557
Pennsylvania Accident Laws
There are several state laws you should be aware of following your accident:
Any accident involving injury, death, or a fully disabled vehicle should be reported to local law enforcement immediately. In many cases, a report will be made by the responding officer at the scene of the crash. If no officer was present, you have five days to make the report.
Statutes of Limitations
Statutes of limitations are time limits, set by law, in which a plaintiff has to bring legal action. In many cases, if the statute of limitations has expired, you cannot pursue your case in court. Pennsylvania allows a two-year statute of limitations to commence action for personal injury, property damage, or wrongful death. In most cases, the clock on the statute begins at the time the injury, damage, or death occurred.
Pennsylvania mandates all drivers provide proof of financial responsibility for their vehicle. Motorists must carry insurance, but the type of insurance they carry can vary. The state is one of only a few to have a “choice” no-fault insurance system, meaning drivers can choose between a no-fault policy or a traditional tort liability policy.
No-fault insurance states require drivers to file claims with their own insurance provider, regardless of who is responsible for damages. In at-fault states, claims are made to the insurer of the driver who is liable for the accident.
Pennsylvania drivers can select a no-fault policy, which has cheaper premiums, but they generally are barred from pursuing certain awards in a civil lawsuit, like damages for pain and suffering. There are exceptions. For example, if a driver was intoxicated or was driving to intentionally cause injury, restrictions may be lifted. More expensive tort liability policies allow drivers who have been in an accident to sue without restrictions.
Philadelphia Failure to Yield Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-598-7557
Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC
Car accidents can be traumatic, stressful, and expensive, and afterward, you may not know where to turn for help. You do not have to fight for justice alone. At Ben Crump Law, PLLC we believe in giving a voice to the voiceless and helping our clients through even the toughest cases.
A Philadelphia failure to yield accident lawyer can help you through every step of your case so that you can concentrate on healing. Whether negotiating with insurance companies or representing you in court, our team can handle all aspects of your claim.
We have helped thousands of clients across the country win millions in settlements in car accident lawsuits. Our team works on a contingency basis, so you pay nothing upfront and nothing out of pocket. We do not collect a fee unless we win your case. Call 800-959-1444 to learn more about how Ben Crump Law, PLLC may be able to help.
Call or text 800-598-7557 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form