Ridesharing services, such as Lyft and Uber, offer a convenient transportation option for many travelers. With nothing more than a cell phone, passengers can now quickly and conveniently order a ride. These services also have created new job opportunities for drivers.
Unlike more traditional modes of public transportation, like taxis and buses, ridesharing drivers are not considered commercial drivers. Almost anyone can drive for a ridesharing service, and ridesharing drivers can get into car accidents just like any other motorist.
If you have been in an accident involving a ridesharing driver, pursuing compensation for your injuries can be confusing. Who is liable for your accident, and how will you pay for the cost of your injuries? A Denver ridesharing accident lawyer can help you understand where to turn for compensation. Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC at (800) 598-7557 to discuss how our team can help you seek the awards you may be entitled to.
Ridesharing Drivers Should Be Covered by Insurance
Your best bet for pursuing compensation in a ridesharing accident may be through insurance. Ridesharing drivers in Colorado must follow the state’s insurance laws, as well as carry additional coverage that applies while they are transporting passengers.
Uber and Lyft do not own cars and do not hire drivers in the same way that taxi companies or limousine services do. Rather, these ridesharing apps act as a tech-based, go-between service to connect drivers to passengers.
When the app is turned off and they are not working, ridesharing drivers are covered by their personal insurance policy. However, when they are working, they are covered by a policy provided through the ridesharing app. Coverage is different depending on whether or not the driver is waiting for a ride request, en route to a passenger, or carrying a passenger.
According to Uber and Lyft, if a driver has the ridesharing app turned on and is waiting for a ride request, they are covered up to $50,000 per person for bodily injury, or up $100,000 in total bodily injury coverage. They are also covered up to $25,000 for property damage.
Once a driver accepts a ride and is on the way to pick up passengers, or is carrying passengers, coverage increases to $1 million in liability coverage. They also are provided some coverage against uninsured/underinsured motorists, and coverage for the costs of damage to their own vehicle, minus a deductible.
This coverage is in accordance with a Colorado law passed in 2014, requiring ridesharing drivers to carry at least $1 million in liability insurance. The law also requires ridesharing drivers to get a permit from the Colorado Public Utilities Commission before operating inside of the state.
These insurance laws may seem confusing, but a Denver ridesharing accident lawyer can assist you through the claims process. They will negotiate with the applicable insurance provider to attempt to satisfactorily resolve your claims. If a settlement cannot be reached, an attorney can help you seek damages in court.
For a free legal consultation with a ridesharing accidents lawyer serving Denver, call (800) 598-7557
Determining Liability in a Ridesharing Accident
A lawyer can help you show that the Uber or Lyft driver who hit you is responsible for any damages you have suffered. To do this, your attorney needs to show they were engaging in negligent behavior, such as speeding or breaking traffic laws.
In some instances, you may bear some of the responsibility for your accident. You can seek compensation as long as your negligence was less than that of the other party, according to C.R.S. 13-21-111.
Denver Ridesharing Accident Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
You May Be Entitled to Awards for Medical Care and More
Some ridesharing accident victims are injured while being transported by a ridesharing driver. Other ridesharing accidents occur when a ridesharing driver hits another vehicle. Whether you were a passenger or another driver, if you were injured, you can seek compensation for your medical care.
Car accidents can result in broken bones, whiplash, severe cuts and bruises, and a host of other injuries. A lawyer can fight for awards to help you pay for any past or future medical treatments needed because of your accident.
If your vehicle was hit by a car driven by a ridesharing driver, you may be entitled to awards to pay for vehicle damages. If you were a passenger, and your personal property was damaged during your accident, you might be entitled to the costs of replacing your items.
If you were seriously injured, an attorney may be able to help you seek additional compensation for your pain and suffering. If you lost a family member in a ridesharing accident, you could be eligible to pursue wrongful death benefits.
Click to contact our Denver Car Accident Lawyers today
Do Not Wait Too Long to Get Started on Your Case
The sooner you contact an attorney, the sooner they can begin advocating for you. A lawyer can help you start gathering evidence to support your claims. They can obtain statements from anyone who witnessed your accident, and may be able to find video surveillance, photographs, and other evidence to help show the ridesharing driver was negligent.
Though there is no time limit on insurance negotiations, there is a limit on how long you have to bring a civil lawsuit. Under C.R.S. 13-80-101, you have three years to pursue claims of personal injury suffered during a vehicle accident. If an insurance settlement cannot be reached, a Denver ridesharing accident lawyer can file your case before the statute of limitations expires.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC Today
Our team can help you fight for what you are owed. If your injuries were caused by a negligent Uber or Lyft driver, a Denver ridesharing accident lawyer can help you seek financial awards to help with the costs of your accident.
At Ben Crump Law, PLLC, we have helped car accident victims from across the country. We can help you seek a successful outcome for your case at no up-front cost to you. To learn more about how our team can help, call our offices at (800) 598-7557.
Call or text (800) 598-7557 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form