Hit and run accidents are frightening and can leave accident victims alone without help, sometimes making the situation much worse. Tennessee’s law mandates that those involved in a car accident must stay at the scene and exchange telephone numbers, insurance information, etc.
If you are suffering because of a hit and run in Memphis or have lost a loved one, a Memphis hit and run accident lawyer might be able to help you seek compensation for your damages and losses.
Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC, today at (800) 598-7557 for a free case evaluation. We advocate for your rights and can manage your case. We also work on a contingency fee basis, so you will not pay until we win. We are here when you are ready.
Understanding What Happens After a Hit and Run Accident in Memphis
According to TN Code § 55-10-107, if an accident’s damage exceeds $1,500, a written report of the accident must be sent to the Tennessee Department of Safety within 20 days. This is different from the statutes of limitations that give a person one year from the accident to file a lawsuit for personal injury, per TN Code § 28-3-104.
Some insurance companies fine you for not filing a claim within a certain time as well. Furthermore, an insurance company can use any statement you give them and use it to lower your claim. An attorney can advise you on how to handle these matters and ensure that you file your requests and lawsuit on time while negotiating your settlement with an insurance company.
For a free legal consultation with a hit and run accidents lawyer serving Memphis, call (800) 598-7557
Uninsured Motorist Insurance
This coverage is not mandatory in Tennessee. However, you may have it on your insurance policy and not know it, so you might want to check. Insurers are not obligated to tell you it is there, and if you did not sign a statement refusing the coverage when you purchased your insurance, you might have it.
This insurance helps cover costs in these situations. The UMI coverage is typically equal to or less than the amount your insurance covers.
Memphis Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
Proving Negligence in a Hit and Run
If the other person flees, proving negligence might not happen. However, gathering everything you can to find the guilty party can help. Hit and runs are a crime, and the person may also face criminal charges if they are located, which could benefit your personal injury case.
Evidence you should gather to help your case include:
- Police report
- Witness testimony
- Security, dashcam, or other camera footage available from the scene
If you are involved in a car accident, you might not be able to gather this information immediately. You should call or have someone call 911 immediately, which will establish a record of the accident. Also, make sure to be consistent with your doctor’s orders while documenting how you feel and how you have been affected by the situation.
Click to contact our Memphis Car Accident Lawyers today
Hiring a Memphis Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Can Help
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Association (NHTSA), there were 974 fatal vehicle accidents in Tennessee in 2018. More than 10% were in Shelby County.
What makes a hit and run accident more dangerous than some is the victim is left alone. If a victim of a hit and run suffers a severe injury without help, they might suffer further trauma or damage, or even worse, death.
A Memphis hit and run accident lawyer is here to help you manage your case’s legalities. Whether you are filing for a personal injury or wrongful death, we are compassionate about your situation. We can help relieve you of the burden of reliving the details of the accident over again.
Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC, today to speak with a team member. The consultation is free, and you will not pay unless we win financial awards for you. Please do not get distracted by complex statutes or dismayed by untimely filing; let us take on your case and help you get the compensation you deserve.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Reasons Drivers Flee in a Hit and Run Accident
Tennessee was fifth in the nation for uninsured drivers, according to a 2017 Insurance Research Council report. Sometimes the fear of getting caught in these situations trumps logic when a person is involved in a motor vehicle accident, and they flee.
Another common reason for hit and runs in Memphis is drunk driving. An intoxicated person does not always use their best judgment. Furthermore, Tennessee DUI laws state that if a driver is found and charged with DUI and a hit and run, they could face felony charges, fines, and jail time, especially if there was a minor or death involved in the accident.
Awards You Could Receive for a Hit and Run Lawsuit
In a personal injury lawsuit, you might be able to recover economic and non-economic damages. These include pain and suffering, medical costs, catastrophic event loss, loss of wages, and the loss of companionship. The severity of your case typically determines the value of the compensation.
An attorney can look at medical records, receipts, statements, and other documents to help you determine what compensation you might be able to ask for. They also can file paperwork essential to your case and handle all communications and negotiations for you. If we are not able to secure a settlement that covers your needs, we can file a personal injury lawsuit in civil court on your behalf on time.
Contact a Ben Crump Law, PLLC, Memphis Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Team Today
Hit and run accidents are severe offenses, and a victim should not have to suffer the consequences of someone else’s actions. When you work with a Memphis hit and run accident lawyer, you get a team dedicated to your case so that you can devote more time to healing and spending time with your family, following up with doctors, and returning to work.
Let Ben Crump Law, PLLC, advocate for your rights. Call us today at (800) 598-7557 and review your case during a free consultation. We have won over $30 million for our clients, and we want to win for you. No case is too tough, and you will not pay until we win.
Call or text (800) 598-7557 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form