Hit and run accidents happen when at least one person involved in a crash leaves the scene without offering help, reporting the accident, or giving their information to the other driver. It is illegal to hit and run, and drivers who leave the accident scene may face criminal charges.
If you are the victim of a hit and run accident, you may want an attorney’s help. A Philadelphia hit and run accident lawyer may be able to help you seek compensation for your injuries, damaged property, and more.
Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC, at 800-959-1444 to discuss your case.
What to Do After a Hit and Run
If you are involved in a hit and run crash, you should contact law enforcement immediately. Filing an official accident report will help law enforcement investigate your case and find the driver who hit you or your vehicle. If an officer did not make a report at the scene, you are required by Pennsylvania law to report the accident within five days, according to Pennsylvania Title 75 § 3747 (a).
You should try to document and provide law enforcement with as much information about the accident as possible. Record when and where the accident occurred, and the events that took place. This information can help build your case. Try to get pictures of the damage, and details about the car that fled the scene. Some of that information can help the police, but it can also help you build a hit and run case as needed. including:
Sometimes, injuries from a car accident may not be felt for days or even weeks after a crash. Follow up with a doctor for your health and for your potential personal injury claim or lawsuit.
You should contact your insurance company as soon as possible after a hit and run to begin working on your claim. Pennsylvania is a “no-fault” insurance state. This means that drivers file claims with their own insurance companies, regardless of who is responsible for the accident.
According to the Pennsylvania Insurance Department, all drivers must carry the following insurance coverage:
- Medical benefits. Drivers must have a minimum of $5,000 to pay for their medical bills or the bills of others covered by the policy, regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
- Bodily injury liability. This coverage pays for the medical bills and rehabilitation of anyone you injure with your vehicle. Drivers must have $1,500 in coverage for the injury of one person, and $30,000 for the injuries of two or more people.
- Property damage liability. Drivers must carry a minimum of $5,000 in coverage for property damage caused by an accident that is their fault.
Pennsylvania is one of only a few “choice” no-fault states, meaning drivers can select a no-fault insurance policy or traditional tort liability policy. No-fault policies have cheaper premiums, but you might not be able to recover certain damages, like those for pain and suffering. Though more expensive, tort liability policies allow victims to sue without restrictions.
Clearly, you will not be able to sue a driver who flees the scene unless they are caught by law enforcement. If you purchase optional uninsured motorist coverage, you might be able to seek additional compensation from your insurer.
A Philadelphia hit and run accident lawyer may be able to help you negotiate a more favorable settlement with an insurance company. An attorney may also be able to help you investigate who is liable for your accident. If you are interested in pursuing legal action to receive recoverable damages, give the legal team at Ben Crump Law, PLLC, a call today to discuss your case.
Regardless of the reasons for fleeing, leaving the site of an accident is a crime. Pennsylvania Title 75 § 3744 requires drivers to stop at the place where the accident occurred, provide their driver’s license and insurance information, and give “reasonable assistance” to any injured parties.
Drivers who leave the scene of an accident involving property damage may face misdemeanor criminal charges, up to one year in prison, and fines up to $2,500. Drivers who leave the site of an accident with injuries or fatalities may face felony charges and severe penalties.
For a free legal consultation with a hit and run accidents lawyer serving Philadelphia, call 800-598-7557
Pennsylvania Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents
People who have been hurt in a hit and run car accident in Philadelphia do not have a lot time to file a personal injury lawsuit. Under statute of limitations 42 Pa. C.S.A. § 5524, you have two years to take legal action in the state of Pennsylvania. Not meeting this deadline can result in you not even receiving financial awards for your injuries and other losses at all.
At Ben Crump Law, PLLC, we can gather all the necessary paperwork and evidence together to file your lawsuit before the two-year deadline. Reach out to our legal team at 800-959-1444 to begin your fight for compensation today.
Philadelphia Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-598-7557
How a Lawyer Can Help in a Hit and Run Case
After a hit and run accident, you may not know where to turn. If law enforcement is unable to determine who hit you, you may feel stuck with medical bills and the costs of vehicle repair.
A Philadelphia hit and run accident lawyer with Ben Crump Law, PLLC, might be able to help you with your case. An attorney can work with investigators to determine who is liable for your injuries, and a lawyer can negotiate with insurance providers to achieve the best possible settlement for your case.
If you are hit by a hit and run driver, your injuries are not your fault, and you should not have to shoulder the burden alone. At Ben Crump Law, PLLC, we believe in helping victims, and we will work hard to help you seek justice. We can handle every aspect of your case so that you can focus on your recovery.
Our firm has helped those dealing with car accidents caused by negligent drivers , and we will fight to help you. Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC, at 800-959-1444 to discuss your case.
Call or text 800-598-7557 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form