We share the road with numerous drivers a day, and while Tennessee law mandates that drivers have a certain amount of insurance coverage, this is not always the case for every motorist. Being in an accident is not fun, and when the negligent party cannot cover your losses, it creates further frustration.
However, when you face the unknown, you can have a Memphis uninsured car accident lawyer review your case and discuss your rights. Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC, today at (800) 598-7557 for a free consultation. We are confident we can help you build a case to get the compensation you deserve.
Memphis Car Insurance Laws
Tennessee is an “at-fault” state, meaning that anyone responsible for a car accident is responsible for paying for damages. Furthermore, if the driver is uninsured, they run the risk of paying fines and losing their driving privileges. If they cannot cover financial responsibility for the accident since they do not have insurance, they could lose their registration, according to the Tennessee Department of Revenue.
Tennessee law requires a motorist to have minimum liability insurance of at least:
- $15,000 per accident for property damage
- $25,000 per accident for death or injury
- $50,000 per accident for the total cost of injuries or death
An Insurance Research Council report shares that Tennessee carried the fifth-highest number of uninsured drivers in 2015. Tennessee has taken great strides to lower this number—increasing fines and passing the James Lee Atwood Jr. Law. This law puts into place an online verification system database to check if a driver has insurance.
Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Insurance (UIM) coverage
Tennessee law does not require UM and UIM insurance coverage. However, when you purchase car insurance, you must sign a statement refusing it, so you may or may not have it, depending on your insurance provider.
These policies are not usually set at a higher premium than your base coverage. Therefore, the lower your insurance coverage, the lower your UM or UIM. Both help cover medical costs, loss of wages, and other bills you might have after an accident.
Roughly 20% of Tennessee motorists are uninsured. Having these types of insurance enhancements can be beneficial. However, when filing a claim with your insurance company, you might find they are not on your side. Sometimes even your own insurance company wants to give you as little as possible, and they have no obligation to inform you of the extra coverage you may have.
Getting the help of an uninsured accident attorney may be the tool you need to get a fair and well-negotiated claim. Note: It is against the law for insurance companies to increase rates or cancel an insurance coverage when a person files a UIM or UM claim, per Tennessee Code §56-7-1201(f).
For a free legal consultation with a uninsured car accidents lawyer serving Memphis, call (800) 598-7557
How a Memphis Uninsured Car Accident Lawyer Can Assist You
In these types of unfortunate events, having a Memphis uninsured car accident lawyer on your side can relieve you of the duty of having to collect all the evidence. We can negotiate with insurance companies and file your personal injury lawsuit promptly.
Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC, today to see how we can help you. Just because the other driver was not insured does not mean you cannot get compensation. Do not let the insurance companies or the litigation process intimidate you. Let us help you. It is free to call, and because we work on a contingency fee basis, you do not pay until we win your lawsuit.
Memphis Uninsured Car Accident Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
Proving Liability and Collecting Damages
You have one year to file car accident personal injury cases in Memphis per Tennessee Code §28-3-104. You must also be able to prove the driver was negligent.
To establish the other driver’s liability, you must prove:
- They did not uphold their responsibility to drive safely.
- This failure to drive responsibly caused the accident.
- The accident is what caused the injuries, damages, losses, or death.
- You are less than 50% liable for the accident.
Tennessee is a comparative negligence state. This means that you must be able to prove the negligent driver was at least 51% liable to receive compensation.
Compensation for Damages
You may be eligible for economic and non-economic damages. These awards cover medical costs, pain and suffering, loss of life enjoyment, and any other financial and emotional losses due to the accident. If you want to learn more about the value of your case and claim, an attorney can help you.
Click to contact our Memphis Car Accident Lawyers today
Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC, Today
Let us advocate for your losses. Just because you have been hit by an uninsured driver does not mean you are not eligible for compensation. Furthermore, although you might have to file a claim on your own insurance, it does not mean you are at fault either.
Working with a Memphis uninsured car accident lawyer on your case could help you better understand your options. An attorney can also handle all communications and paperwork for you, negotiate with at-fault parties, and update you on all developments in your case.
Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC, at (800) 598-7557 today to schedule your free consultation. We are here to help you manage the whole process of your lawsuit from filing to winning. We work on a contingency fee basis as well, so you will not have to pay until you win. You have nothing to lose by calling us. Contact us today.
Call or text (800) 598-7557 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form