Often, car crashes in Colorado can be handled through an insurance claim with the at-fault driver’s policy. The adjuster will take into account your medical bills and other expenses and cut you a settlement for your losses.
However, what happens when you get hit in Colorado by a driver who’s driving without proof of insurance? That’s when things can get dicey for you in trying to recover compensation.
Suffering from personal injuries from an uninsured car accident is a terrible misfortune to endure. When an accident occurs, and an uninsured driver is found to be at fault in the collision, it becomes the responsibility of the insured driver and their insurance companies to pay for all costs related to medical treatments, hospitalizations, and more related to the accident.
If you have been seriously injured in a car crash with an uninsured driver, a Colorado Springs uninsured car accident lawyer from Ben Crump Law, PLLC might be able to help you seek compensation for your injuries. We are a national law firm with years of experience in dealing with personal injury claims involving car accidents and uninsured motorists.
Our team of legal professionals can advise you on your legal rights in such accidents and how you may be able to file a personal injury claim to recover damages in the accident. Our number is (800) 598-7557. Call us today to discuss your accident and your injuries.
Insurance Requirements in Colorado
Drivers in Colorado are required to have basic auto insurance. According to the Colorado General Assembly, liability insurance is required for all drivers. This type of insurance covers you (the driver) for causing bodily injury to another driver (or passenger) in a car accident. It also covers the property damage to the other vehicle.
The state of Colorado requires drivers to have insurance that covers the following minimum amounts:
- $25,000 to cover any bodily injury or fatality to any one person in a car crash
- $50,000 to cover any bodily injury or fatality to multiple people in a car crash
- $15,000 for property damage to another vehicle in any single accident
Besides these minimums, drivers in Colorado may purchase more insurance coverage as needed. Some experts say that purchasing uninsured motorist coverage to protect oneself against a crash by an at-fault uninsured motorist is a smart move.
For a free legal consultation with a uninsured car accidents lawyer serving Colorado Springs, call (800) 598-7557
Uninsured Drivers in Colorado
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), in 2015, 13.3% of Colorado drivers were uninsured.
One of the reasons for this number of uninsured drivers could be the cost of the insurance coverage. Some people living paycheck to paycheck might not have the means to pay for insurance coverage. They might not qualify for insurance for other reasons, as well.
When a person cannot make the monthly payment on insurance, the person may let it slide for a few weeks, thinking that they will pay it forward the following month. However, if an accident takes place during that period where the insurance has not been paid, then it can lead to other penalties for the uninsured driver.
If you have been hit in your car by another driver who appears to not currently have liability insurance, you may have to pay for all your medical expenses out of pocket. And that can add up quickly and cause major financial troubles. A Colorado Springs uninsured car accident lawyer can evaluate your case and tell you what steps you have to take to recover damages.
Colorado Springs Uninsured Car Accident Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
Uninsured Motorist Penalties
In Colorado, drivers are required to have proof of insurance when they are driving in the state. If a driver gets into an accident without showing proof of insurance, the driver can receive some pretty serious penalties. These penalties from Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) § 42-4-1409 may include:
- Four points off your driver’s license
- First-time offender: $500 fine for the first offense and your license gets suspended until you show insurance proof
- Second-time offender: $1,000 fine and your license gets suspended until you show insurance proof
- Additional offenses: $1,000 fine and your license is suspended for six to 12 months
- Other penalties may be added in case of reckless behavior
Click to contact our Colorado Springs Car Accident Lawyers today
Pursuing a Personal Injury Claim
You may be lying in a hospital room, recovering from your accident with an uninsured driver in Colorado. Your injuries may include broken bones, whiplash, concussion, broken or ruptured ribs, and even some internal bleeding.
Any of these injuries will require a good deal of medical treatments. Without some sort of insurance coverage to pay for this, how will you manage to pay the medical costs?
That’s where filing a personal injury claim can be an option for you to take. In Colorado, you have three years from the date of your injuries suffered in a car accident to make a claim against the at-fault driver, even an uninsured driver. That gives you plenty of time to recover from your injuries and get in touch with a law firm like Ben Crump Law, PLLC.
Working with a law firm like ours can send a signal loud and clear to the at-fault driver that you mean business and intend to recover the costs of the injuries the other driver caused. Filing a claim against an uninsured driver can help recover compensation that will likely include:
- All costs of medical treatments, medications, rehabilitation, and more
- Loss of job income
- Emotional pain and suffering damages
Ben Crump Law, PLLC can help you. Reach out to us to see how a Colorado Springs uninsured car accident lawyer can plan a strategy to fight for your legal rights against the uninsured driver. Call us for a no-fee consultation at (800) 598-7557.
Call or text (800) 598-7557 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form