Everyone has seen aggressive and reckless drivers on the roadways. Aggressive driving takes many forms, but essentially it is when a driver disregards the safety of others and drives in a negligent or careless manner. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) indicates that aggressive driving is, in fact, reckless driving. Serious accidents involving catastrophic injuries or even fatalities may occur as a result of aggressive driving.
If you experienced an accident as a result of an aggressive driver, you may have the ability to receive compensation for your medical costs, loss of wages, property damage to your vehicle and the contents inside, and your pain and suffering. Learn more about your legal right to receive compensation after an aggressive driving accident. Contact our legal team to find out how a Colorado Springs aggressive driving accident attorney at Ben Crump Law, PLLC can help you during this difficult period. Call (800) 598-7557.
Dangers of Aggressive Driving
Everyone experiences anger and frustration at some point while driving. Someone may be driving too slow (or too fast), traffic can cause long waits in rush-hour time periods, or someone may simply not follow the rules of the road. Whatever the reason or source of a driver’s frustration, the answer is never to act aggressively while driving. A vehicle is several tons of metal and essentially a weapon if used aggressively on the roadway. If any driver acts recklessly or aggressively, they endanger not only themselves but everyone else on the road as well.
For a free legal consultation with a aggressive driving accidents lawyer serving Colorado Springs, call (800) 598-7557
Colorado Aggressive Driving Laws
The state of Colorado defines aggressive and/or reckless driving under Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) § 42-2-1401 as willfully operating a motor vehicle in such a way that it has a complete disregard for the safety of other drivers and people. If a driver receives a charge and conviction of aggressive driving, it is a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense in the state of Colorado that can include a fine of up to $300 and up to 90 days in jail. If the official police report from your accident indicates that the other driver was charged with aggressive driving, this will help you build your personal injury case.
Colorado Springs Aggressive Driving Accident Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
Aggressive Driving Examples
Not every negligent action on the part of a driver will rise to the level of aggressive driving. Additionally, every aggressive driving case will remain dependent on the facts and circumstances surrounding the accident. However, some of the more common examples of aggressive driving on the roadways can include the following:
- Swerving in and out of traffic with too much speed or with dangerous maneuvers
- Chasing another vehicle intentionally
- Tailgating closely to the vehicle in front of them intentionally
- Passing vehicles when the driver does not have the legal right to do so
- Making threatening gestures either with their body or their vehicle to other drivers on the roadway
- Honking a horn in an aggressive and continuous manner
- Making obscene or violent hand gestures towards others on the roadway
- Intentionally braking quickly to frustrate the vehicle behind them or cause an accident
- Accelerating rapidly around vehicles in an aggressive or unpredictable manner
- Blocking traffic in any way intentionally
- Intentionally cutting off another driver in traffic
- Hitting another vehicle, motorcycle, pedestrian, or motorist intentionally
- Using the vehicle to intentionally run another person, vehicle, motorcycle, or bicycle off the road, causing an accident
- Stopping the vehicle and leaving the vehicle in an attempt to create a physical fight with another person
These are not the only examples of aggressive driving; however, they paint a clear picture regarding the types of actions that a court will consider rising to the level of aggressive driving. If you experienced a car accident that you believe was the result of aggressive driving, a Colorado Springs aggressive driving accident attorney at Ben Crump Law, PLLC can work with you to ensure your legal right to compensation remains protected.
Click to contact our Colorado Springs Car Accident Lawyers today
Statute of Limitations for Aggressive Driving Accidents
The statute of limitations in the state of Colorado (deadline to file a claim in a court of law) is typically two years from the date of the aggressive driving accident. While this may seem like a long person of time, aggressive driving accidents can take a great deal of effort due to their legal complexity. In many cases, an independent investigation must show the interviews of witnesses, expert witness testimony regarding accident reconstruction, determining injuries through medical expert witnesses, and more. Additionally, insurance companies can often take a long period of time to offer a full and fair settlement to a victim of an aggressive driving accident. If the insurance company does not offer an appropriate settlement amount to a victim in a timely manner, they only have two years from the date of the aggressive driving accident to file a lawsuit in the state of Colorado. Time is of the essence, and in order to ensure you receive the compensation you deserve as a victim of an aggressive driving accident, you should consider moving quickly to obtain justice for your injuries and losses.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
A Colorado Springs Aggressive Driving Accident Lawyer Can Fight for You
No driver should have the ability to drive aggressively and cause injuries or losses to an innocent victim without compensating that victim. There are specific laws in the state of Colorado that prohibit aggressive driving because this type of driving often causes serious injuries or even deaths on the roadways.
If you experienced an accident in Colorado Springs as a result of an aggressive driver, contact our legal team at (800) 598-7557 to find out how a Colorado Springs aggressive driving accident attorney at Ben Crump Law, PLLC can work with you to build your personal injury case. We want to help you receive the compensation you deserve under the law.
Call or text (800) 598-7557 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form