In California, any driver involved in a collision must, by law, pull over and stop. Failure to do so exposes the driver to criminal charges. For the victim left behind in such an accident, having nobody at the crime scene to help them, call for aid, or take accountability adds emotional trauma and possible exacerbation of injuries.
If you experienced a hit and run accident, you have already endured more than you deserve. Rather than further burdening yourself with the stress and challenge of seeking compensation from the person who crashed into you, then drove away, consider leaving this matter to legal professionals who know how to fight this type of battle.
A Bakersfield hit and run accident lawyer at Ben Crump Law, PLLC does not shy away from tough cases. Let us work to identify the individual who caused your accident-related injuries and recover your damages. Call us today at (800) 598-7557 for a free consultation.
California Hit and Run Laws
If the other driver involved in your accident left the scene before making a report to law enforcement, that driver has committed a hit and run and may face misdemeanor or felony charges. California law requires that all parties in a motor vehicle accident remain at the accident scene and identify any need for assistance, as well as render assistance if possible.
California’s Vehicle Code 2001 clearly states that when an injury-causing motor vehicle accident occurs, any involved driver must immediately stop at the accident scene. Anyone who violates this code faces criminal charges, imprisonment, and a fine of anywhere between $1,000 and $10,000.
In the event that the violation results in death or permanent, serious injury, the hit and run driver faces imprisonment in a state prison for up to four years or in a county jail for up to one year and/or fines up to $10,000. The state’s code defines “permanent, serious injury” as one in which the victim suffers the loss of a bodily member or organ, or one in which a bodily member or organ becomes permanently impaired.
For a free legal consultation with a hit and run accidents lawyer serving Bakersfield, call (800) 598-7557
A Lawyer Can Help Track Down the Other Driver
It stands to reason that a person who flees from the scene of an accident will not make it easy for you to find them. They probably fled the accident because they did not want to take accountability for your injuries. Furthermore, once they committed the crime of a hit and run, they will be running from possible criminal prosecution.
This puts the victim in a particularly difficult position. Without the driver who caused the accident, the victim’s chances of recovering compensation dwindle.
A Bakersfield hit and run accident lawyer from Ben Crump Law, PLLC however, knows how to uncover evidence that can identify the person who caused an accident, then track the individual down. Call us today for a free consultation.
Bakersfield Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
Investigating Your Accident
When you hire our law firm, we will launch an immediate investigation of your hit and run accident. We will leave no stone unturned when gathering evidence to help build your case:
- Visit the accident scene to gather evidence and take photos
- Obtain footage from any nearby traffic/surveillance cameras
- Document existing photos and videos
- Interview witnesses
- Analyze the police accident report
- Work with accident reconstruction specialists
With any accident, the sooner an investigation begins, the greater the access to vital clues and evidence. Your case benefits from a fresher accident scene and clearer witness’ memories that will otherwise fade over time.
Working with the Insurance Company
Typically, after an injury-causing motor vehicle accident, the victim’s lawyer will calculate their client’s damages and submit them in the form of a demand letter to the at-fault party’s auto insurance company. If and when our firm tracks down the hit and run driver in your accident, we will pursue compensation in this manner.
If an investigation into your accident does not result in identifying and tracking down the at-fault driver, you need not fret. Our attorneys will persist in our efforts to get you the compensation you need to cover your losses. The first place we will turn is toward your insurance policy. Most likely, your policy includes uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If so, we can prepare and file a claim for your losses against this policy.
In either scenario, your claim must contain strong evidence of causation and damages. Even with solid proof, an insurance company can push back with a lowball counteroffer. Our legal team will handle these negotiations on your behalf. We will fight to get you the fair settlement you deserve. If the insurer refuses to cooperate, we can and will file a lawsuit and take the matter to trial.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Damages You Might Recover
The settlement or court award for your hit and run accident injuries will differ from other cases, no matter how similar. This is because the damages you recover will depend on the type and the severity of your injuries, as well as the very specific ways in which we can prove that the injuries have affected you and will continue to impact you later in life.
Examples of Types of Damages in Personal Injury Cases
For an idea of the types of losses that sometimes connect with a motor vehicle accident, consider the following:
- Medical treatment costs (past, ongoing, and future)
- Lost wages
- Diminished future potential earnings
- Household modifications
- Replacement services
- Mobility devices (wheelchairs, crutches, etc.)
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional stress
- Mental anguish
- Diminished quality of life
If you lost a loved one from injuries they suffered in a hit and run accident, you may be entitled to pursue a wrongful death action. Our lawyers can help you with this legal effort, and we will handle the matter with professionalism and the greatest compassion and dignity.
A Bakersfield Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Can Help You
Our law firm wants to help you get the compensation you deserve, and we will fight to do just that. Keep in mind that California courts set a statute of limitations that gives you only two years from the date of your accident in which to file a lawsuit. The sooner you hire legal representation, the more time you give your lawyers to build your case.
Also know that our firm works on contingency, meaning you pay us only when and if we win you an insurance settlement or court award.
Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC today for a free case review at (800) 598-7557.