Ridesharing companies such as Uber and Lyft have become a go-to for convenience in local travel, but are they safe? For the most part, yes. However, according to a 2018 Forbes report, accidents involving a fatality have increased each year by 2-4% since ridesharing has become more popular. Legislation has even been put into place to help manage the influx of drivers on the road.
If you are a victim of an accident involving a rideshare vehicle, let a Bakersfield ridesharing accident lawyer help you manage your case. It is important to know your rights because in these cases, you are not only dealing with the rideshare company; there are more factors at play.
Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC today at (800) 598-7557 for a free case evaluation. Our team is here when you are ready. We also work on a contingency-fee-basis, so you will not pay anything until we have won your case.
Ridesharing Accidents Overview
There are three ways to examine your position in these circumstances:
- Were you the passenger?
- Were you an innocent bystander (pedestrian, bicyclist, etc.)?
- Were you in another vehicle?
These differences are going to play into how you build your lawsuit. You should also understand when liability falls on the driver or the company. If Uber or Lyft drivers have not logged into their work application and are driving around waiting for a customer, they are on their own.
This means they are typically liable for any accident they cause. Just like any other driver, they should carry the minimum liability insurance mandated by California law. In this case, the rules follow any other accident process.
Rideshare companies have large $1 million insurance policies that they try hard not to use. However, there are three factors at play that will usually place liability on the rideshare company:
- The driver has a passenger and is on the way to the destination
- The driver is on the way to the customer and has logged into the work application
- The driver has logged in, is waiting on a fare, and is in an accident. In these cases, the Lyft or Uber insurance policy will only cover up to the liability limits:
- $25,000 for property damage
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury
- $100,000 per accident for bodily injury
If You Were the Passenger
If you are a passenger, then the full policy should protect you. You may also be able to file a claim or lawsuit against the other driver if they are the negligent party. If the rideshare driver is negligent, all those with injuries will be able to file a claim against the insurance policy.
California Assembly Bill No. 5
California AB-5 is legislation aimed at closing loopholes that protect companies from taking responsibility for contract employees’ actions. The enforcement of these new laws makes it even more important that you get a strong advisor on your side. There are many factors that could put the liability on the rideshare company.
For a free legal consultation with a ridesharing accidents lawyer serving Bakersfield, call (800) 598-7557
Hiring a Bakersfield Ridesharing Accident Lawyer to Assist You
The technicalities are complex when it comes to filing a claim against a rideshare company. This is why our Bakersfield ridesharing accident lawyers are here to help you. We understand which direction to take based on the factors of your case. Most of all, we want to make sure you have adequate protection. Filing a claim or lawsuit against any company can be intimidating. They have teams of lawyers set up to handle these situations, and so should you.
Our team is ready when you are. We are strong negotiators and can manage your case while you heal. You do not deserve the extra weight of the financial burden you face due to injury caused by the negligence of another person. Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC today for a free case evaluation. We do not receive payment until you win.
Bakersfield Ridesharing Accident Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
Proving Negligence and Collecting Damages
Before you file a lawsuit, you will want to make sure that you are able to prove negligence. Drivers have a duty to drive responsibly and when they breach that responsibility and cause accidents, they should pay for the damages they cause. You must prove that the negligence that caused the accident is also what caused your injuries or in the most unfortunate cases, a death.
You will want to collect as much evidence as possible:
- Police reports
- Rideshare application information
- Video or photos of the accident and any damage
- Witness testimony
Make sure you also file a crash report if you were in the other vehicle. According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you have ten days from the accident to file a crash report or you risk suspension of your license.
Time limits or statute for limitations for filing a lawsuit for a personal injury claim is two years from the accident. There are some situations that can affect this time limit, which we can figure out for you based on the factors of your case.
The court will award compensation to cover financial loss for economic and non-economic damages. California follows the pure comparative negligence law. This means you will be responsible for any part of the accident you are negligent for, even if it is only 1%.
These damages include:
- Medical bills
- Loss of wages
- Loss of companionship
- Pain and suffering
Click to contact our Bakersfield Car Accident Lawyers today
Let Ben Crump Law, PLLC Help You Get the Compensation You Deserve
Our Bakersfield rideshare accident lawyers are here to help you through the process of filing your claim. We make sure to deal with your claim in a timely manner, ensuring you are able to negotiate firmly with insurance adjusters, and most of all, make certain that your rights are protected.
We have won millions for our clients who have pursued personal injury and wrongful death lawsuits, and we want to help you do the same. There is no reason to fight the system alone when you have our compassionate team standing by to guide you.
Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC today at (800) 598-7557. Your consultation is free, and you will not pay anything upfront. We negotiate contingency fees to make sure there is no added stress to your healing and that you get the time and space you need to grieve. Do not wait; you only have so much time to pursue the justice and compensation you deserve.
Call or text (800) 598-7557 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form