Rollover accidents are not very common, but they are the deadliest. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), rollover accidents caused 21% of car crash fatalities in California in 2018. The aftermath of these types of motor vehicle accidents can be traumatic for survivors, too.
If you are suffering or have lost a loved one to a rollover accident in Bakersfield due to the negligence of another driver, let one of our Bakersfield rollover accident lawyers look over your case for free. We are compassionate about the needs of our clients beyond just their claims. We want to make sure you have the space you need to heal and grieve.
Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC today at (800) 598-7557 and let our team help you seek to recover your losses. We want to help you heal.
Understanding Rollover Accidents
Rollover accidents are typically the cause of driver negligence or weather conditions. Sometimes a driver can lose control and hit a shoulder, causing the vehicle to flip. SUV and top-heavy vehicles are also more susceptible to tipping or rolling due to their higher center of gravity.
Other common causes of rollover accidents include:
Rural Roads: Nearly two-thirds of rollover accidents happen in rural areas due to road design and lack of security, especially in higher MPH zones.
Driving Under the Influence: Drugs and alcohol impair your vision and ability to make quick decisions. This can cause a driver to lose control. Nearly 50% of rollovers involve an impaired driver.
Speeding: If you are speeding and hit a curb or shoulder, there is a higher possibility of rolling your vehicle. If a driver strikes you from the side at an excessive speed, this impact can cause a car to roll.
According to SaferCar, 85% of rollover accidents are single-vehicle accidents. However, there may still be liability involved, such as faulty equipment. Let Ben Crump Law, PLLC, help you figure out the best route for you to get the compensation you need for those damages.
Reporting an Accident
Ensure that you file a crash report with the California Division of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the accident. If you are seriously injured, your insurance company or attorney can help you with this. If you fail to file a crash report if there is injury, death, or property damage over $1,000, you may lose your license, as outlined in the report form from the state’s DMV.
For a free legal consultation with a rollover accidents lawyer serving Bakersfield, call (800) 598-7557
Let a Bakersfield Rollover Accident Lawyer Assist You
Our Bakersfield rollover accident lawyers understand these are trying times. Filing claims and lawsuits when you have an injury or are grieving the loss of a loved one is an extra burden you should not have to bear. Furthermore, the technicalities of the law can leave you confused, but we are here to help you through it all.
When you file a claim, insurance companies will do what they can to save money. They will offer you lower negotiations, and we can prepare you for these negotiation tactics. We want you to get the most out of your claim while also making sure we protect your rights.
Contact Ben Crump Law, PLLC, today and get a team of lawyers that care.
Bakersfield Rollover Accident Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
Damages You May Receive for a Rollover Accident in Bakersfield
Proving negligence is a process of establishing that the negligent party had the duty of care to drive responsibly and that the breach of that responsibility caused the injuries or death.
California also follows the pure comparative negligence law that allows any person involved in the accident to carry responsibility and pay for that negligence. If you are 25% responsible for the accident, that percentage will come out of your compensation, and the other party may receive 25% for their damages.
These awards come as economic and non-economic damages. When we calculate these awards, we receive the help of economists and medical professionals to make sure that we are affording you the best possible amount for your compensation.
Non-economic damage is pain and suffering, loss of consortium, catastrophic loss, as well as any other non-monetary loss that will continue to affect your life due to the accident.
Economic damages are the medical bills, loss of wages, loss of future wages, therapy, prescriptions, and all bills acquired due to the accident.
Statute of Limitations
These are the time limits that you have to file a personal injury or wrongful death claim, which is two years from the accident or time of death if it happened after the accident but was because of the accident, per California Code of Civil Procedure (CCP) §335.1.
If you are filing for property damage, the statute of limitations is three years per CCP §338. This can be for your car or other property damage that occurred during the accident. However, do not wait to file an insurance claim or crash report, as we mentioned. The longer you wait, the more opportunity there is to lose vital evidence.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Let Ben Crump Law, PLLC Assist You with Your Case Today
Getting the assistance of a professional, knowledgeable, and dedicated Bakersfield accident lawyer to help you with your case is a responsible step in helping you get what you deserve. These accidents can cause a lot of damage mentally and physically, and there is no need to feel alone in the process of healing or establishing your case.
Call Ben Crump Law, PLLC today for a free consultation by dialing (800) 598-7557. We are available 24/7 to assist you with your case. Do not hesitate to contact us. We dedicate ourselves to advocating for our client’s rights.