Car accident victims can be left searching for answers. You may be wondering how you will pay for your medical bills, damaged vehicle, and how your family will make ends meet while you recover from your injuries.
You may not have to shoulder these costs alone. If someone else caused your accident, you may be able to seek awards to pay for your expenses, as well as compensation for your suffering. If you were hurt in a rollover accident, side impact collision, rear end collision, failure to yield accident, or any other type of car crash, consider reaching out to Ben Crump Law, PLLC. Call our offices at (800) 598-7557 to learn more about working with a Daytona Beach car accident lawyer.
After a Car Accident
See a Doctor if You Have Been Injured
Accidents can be scary and stressful. Afterward, you may not know what to do. If your injuries are severe, you may have received emergency medical treatment at the time of your accident. If you have not seen a doctor, it is a good idea to double-check yourself for injuries. Be alert in the days and weeks following your accident for any signs of pain, bruising, or discomfort. If at any point you believe you were hurt, seek medical treatment.
Make Sure Your Accident Was Reported
By law, your accident must be reported to the authorities. If an officer was present at the scene, he or she has 10 days from the time of the accident to make a crash report. If authorities were not called, you must report accidents involving injury, death, or property damage of $500 or more as soon as possible to the local police, sheriff’s department, or highway patrol, according to Florida Statutes § 316.065.
File Claims with Your Automobile Insurance Provider
Florida is a no-fault insurance state, and it also does not require drivers to carry liability insurance against bodily injury to another driver. Instead, motorists must have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, and a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) protection, according to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
PIP pays for 80 percent of your own medical expenses from a covered injury up to $10,000, regardless of who caused the accident. PDL covers another individual’s property damage in the event the crash was your fault. If your injuries are severe, such as a broken bone or internal damage, you can go outside of the insurance system to seek compensation from the other driver in civil court.
You should file claims for your injuries with your own insurance provider as soon as possible following your accident. You can file property damage claims with the at-fault driver’s provider. A Daytona Beach car accident lawyer can assist you in insurance negotiations, and also can help you sue the other driver involved, if applicable.
For a free legal consultation with a car accident lawyers lawyer serving Daytona Beach, call (800) 598-7557
Laws You Should Know
If you decide to pursue a lawsuit, there are some laws you should be aware of regarding negligence and the statute of limitations.
Comparative fault laws determine how much responsibility you can have for your accident before you are barred from seeking compensation. In Florida, you can be up to 99 percent at fault for your crash and still be eligible for awards. If you win a settlement, the amount you are owed will be diminished based on how much your actions contributed to your injuries.
To win a settlement in a car accident lawsuit, you have to prove someone else was liable for your crash. This could be another person, the entity in charge of the road, or a vehicle or parts manufacturer. Examples of behaviors/conditions that could constitute liability include:
- Poor road maintenance
- Failing to yield
- Failing to obey traffic signals and signs
- Defective brakes
- Faulty vehicle safety equipment
- Driving while intoxicated
- Badly lit roadways
- Texting and driving
There is no time limit to how long you have to settle a claim through insurance. However, if you plan to seek compensation in a lawsuit, you need to know the statutes of limitations that apply to your case. Florida Statute § 95.11 gives you four years to pursue car accident injury claims. If your family member died in a crash, you have two years to sue for wrongful death.
Daytona Beach Car Accident Lawyers Lawyer Near Me (800) 598-7557
Paying for Your Damages
When someone else is found liable, they are responsible for at least part of your costs. A Daytona Beach car accident lawyer can help you seek a monetary settlement for your medical expenses, property damage, and pain and suffering. If it applies to your case, you may also be eligible to pursue wrongful death benefits.
Damages are broken into two categories: economic and noneconomic. Economic damages are tangible costs for things like medical bills, a new vehicle, or backpay from missing work. In a wrongful death suit, they include things like your loved one’s final medical care and end-of-life expenses.
Noneconomic damages attempt to compensate you for damages that you cannot put an exact dollar figure on. This includes things like depression, stress, and anxiety brought on by your accident. They may also include compensation for scarring or disfigurement. In a wrongful death case, noneconomic damages may include your loved one’s suffering, as well as losses, both emotional and financial, that you have suffered due to their death.
Contact the Team at Ben Crump Law, PLLC
Working with an attorney could result in more compensation for you and your family. At Ben Crump Law, PLLC we have helped victims win multi-million-dollar car accident lawsuit settlements. A Daytona Beach car accident lawyer from our team can work to achieve the maximum amount of awards possible in your case.
Our team can provide you with a no-cost consultation. If you choose to work with our attorneys, we can handle your case on a contingency fee basis. We do not get paid unless you get justice. Call the offices of Ben Crump Law, PLLC today at (800) 598-7557.