Accidents are almost always preventable, and no one should have to suffer financially while recovering from injuries suffered in a truck accident. If you or a loved one suffered injuries in an accident with a truck, the attorneys at Ben Crump Law, PLLC can help.
Call our offices to get started on your case today at 800-630-9229.
Tallahassee Is High Risk For Trucking Accidents
With Tallahassee located where there are some major Southeastern United States crossroads, the risk of crashes between civilian drivers and commercial truck drivers is higher than other places.
Insurance Requirements For Commercial Truck Drivers in Florida
Naturally, commercial motor vehicles carry additional insurance requirements due to increased liability on the road. Although all drivers in Florida must carry insurance policies that cover a minimum of $10,000 in protection for Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) each, Florida Law expands the requirement for all commercial vehicles.
According to the Florida Statutes section §627.7415, commercial motor vehicles have an additional damage liability requirement of “fifty thousand dollars per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle… less than 35,000 pounds,” “One hundred thousand dollars” for vehicles “less than 44,000 pounds,” and up to “three hundred thousand dollars” for every vehicle 44,000 pounds or more.” Additionally, federal requirements for minimum insurance policies apply to all “for-hire” motor carriers.
When you get into an accident with a large truck, there is likely to be more than one entity at risk for liability of the accident— all with different financial interests in the accident. Having a Tallahassee truck accident lawyer navigate the litigation process with you can completely ease the burden, potentially getting you the personal injury settlement you are entitled to.
For a free legal consultation with a truck accidents lawyer serving Tallahassee, call 800-630-9229
Seeking Legal Advice After an Accident With a Truck
When a truck accident happens, you will need to report it to the police. By default, all commercial vehicles that get into accidents in Florida are required to report them. In any case, if a police report is not filed at the scene, you will need to do so within 10 days of the accident. Filing a police report is not only required, it bolsters your case for credibility in the accident. Police can usually determine fault in the trucking accident and help hold negligent drivers accountable.
Next, it is crucial for you to seek medical treatment if you are injured, and insurance adjustments for any damages you incurred from the accident.
Florida is a no-fault insurance state, meaning you will file for personal injury and personal damage compensation through your personal insurance policy first. No-fault insurance is intended to protect Florida drivers from the previously mentioned high population of people driving without insurance in the state. While the no-fault insurance policy may limit the amount of damages you can seek, it does not prevent you from seeking compensation after your accident.
Common Factors of Truck Accidents
When you are in an accident with a truck driver, there could be multiple parties who are liable for the truck and driver in an accident. This is particularly true if the trucker is working on behalf of a company as an employee or a sub-contractor.
While the driver could have terms of employment that make them individually more or less responsible for the truck in an accident, there is usually more than one liable party at hand. Other people with a legal stake in your truck accident case could include the truck leasing company, the freight or shipping company that loaded the truck, or the truck manufacturer.
In any case, speaking with a truck accident attorney about your unique situation will bring clarity to your legal options. The attorneys at Ben Crump Law, PLLC will examine your case with a courtroom perspective, whether the case escalates to trial or not.
Some common driving behaviors for negligent truck drivers may include:
- Ignoring blind spots
- Ignoring load limit or speed limit signs
- Failure to provide driving space in heavy traffic
- Impaired driving, distracted and drowsy driving
- Driving a truck without proper inspection
- Driving without legally required truck markings
- Overloaded truck
- Carrying a truckload with an uneven weight distribution
When you speak with the accident attorneys at Ben Crump Law, PLLC, we can determine your best legal options to get you the settlement you deserve.
Building Your Truck Accident Case
There are several rules and regulations that truck drivers in Florida must follow, according to Florida Statute 316 § 302, and a truck driver may have failed to adhere to one or more of these regulations. Building a case of negligence against a truck driver can be bolstered by a police report, first-hand evidence like photographs from the scene, and a history of negligence among the driver’s record or trucking company.
With the evidence stacked against the negligent driver, you may pursue any of the following claim types:
- Personal Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Wrongful Death
Of course, this is a non-exhaustive list of claims you might want to make. A truck accident attorney serving Tallahassee will help you determine the best route for your case under your unique circumstances.
Tallahassee Truck Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-630-9229
Contact a Tallahassee Truck Accident Lawyer to Protect Your Rights
When you get into an accident with a truck, do not let the sheer size of the case discourage you from getting the settlement you deserve.
Hold negligent drivers accountable for their behavior on the road and get back to life as you knew it before the accident. The attorneys at Ben Crump Law, PLLC are waiting to represent your rights. Call us today for a free consultation at 800-630-9229.